Home > Lord's Supper, Mallinak > Bread, Part 1

Bread, Part 1

September 15, 2006

BLESSED ARE THE HUNGRYÂ

Dinnertime was long past due. At least my dinnertime was long past due. Not that the time for dinner had passed. Just that the time when I needed food had passed. The clock itself would not be striking five o’clock in the evening for another half hour. But the hunger pangs kept growing more intense, until I could feel the headache coming. My wife and I, enjoying an evening downtown, headed to the Italian Restaurant, where we were seated for dinner. “Breadsticks!” I said, “Can we get our breadsticks, please?”

The breadsticks arrived in short order. My wife took one and munched on it, while I devoured the rest of the basket. The warmth that started in my stomach slowly spread itself through my body. The waitress came back to take our order. “Breadsticks!” I said, “Could we get another basket? Please? Before you bring our order?” A few minutes later, a fresh basket of piping hot breadsticks arrived. Once again, my wife ate one while I devoured the entire basket. Finished it, in fact, before the meal arrived.

Nothing fills a hungry man like freshly baked bread, piping hot, right out of the oven. Bread is to me a comfort food, and in my house, no meal is complete without bread. A fresh, homemade loaf is best, but I’ll take biscuits or hot rolls or bread sticks, or even Wonder bread and butter. When I’m hungry, give me bread.

When the Israelites hungered in the wilderness, God gave them bread.

Our fathers did eat manna in the desert; as it is written, He gave them bread from heaven to eat.

This bread fed them, fed them faithfully, and fed them fully. They ate, and they were filled. Manna sustained their lives. But manna cannot sustain life forever. They ate that bread, and they died (John 6:49).

There is bread, The One Bread, which feeds a man so that he will not die.

I am the living bread which came down from heaven: if any man eat of this bread, he shall live for ever: and the bread that I will give is my flesh, which I will give for the life of the world. (John 6:50-51)

The hungry soul craves that bread. The flesh might attempt to satisfy the cravings. Man believes he can live by bread alone. But the flesh cannot meet the need. The world promises to meet that need. Get “dough”, they say. But “dough” cannot meet the need. Religious form sometimes attempts to meet that need. But religion that is mere form and formality cannot satisfy the cravings of a hungry soul.

The manna in the wilderness was not that bread (John 6:32-33). The manna from heaven was a type. The bread of Communion is also a type, not the real thing. You can partake of this bread, and still not eat the Living Bread.

Then Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Except ye eat the flesh of the Son of man, and drink his blood, ye have no life in you.Whoso eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, hath eternal life; and I will raise him up at the last day.For my flesh is meat indeed, and my blood is drink indeed.He that eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, dwelleth in me, and I in him.

Those who have eaten the Living Bread will desire the bread of Communion. And the bread of Communion will feed us.

The silver tray holds many small pieces of bread. The pieces are many, yet one bread. We pass the tray, we take the bread, we hold it in our hand, and we wait. We pronounce blessing on the bread. We read the words of Christ.

Take, eat: this is my body, which is broken for you: this do in remembrance of me.

We place the wafer in our mouth. We chew. We swallow. We are filled. And yet hungry. The wafer is our bread – This is my body. The body of Christ is our bread – and the bread that I will give is my flesh (see I Cor 10:17). The Word made flesh is our bread (Mt. 4:4; Lu 4:4). Give us this day our daily bread.

Jeremiah 15:16 Thy words were found, and I did eat them; and thy word was unto me the joy and rejoicing of mine heart: for I am called by thy name, O LORD God of hosts.

Believers eat bread. (!)

Categories: Lord's Supper, Mallinak
  1. ChrisTopher
    September 16, 2006 at 7:22 pm

    I am a big fan of bread also. I can remember the times going to the Italian restaraunt and filling up on the warm breadsticks that they so readily bring to your table. But then I would get into trouble because I would fill up on them and not eat my meal. This reminds me of OT Israel. They got so filled up with the Law and Manna and Sacrificing that they were not ready for the main course. That which was meant to whet their appetite until the thing that which was meant to fulfill them was what they filled themselves with. Maybe that’s a lesson for us all. We need to cut back on the bread sticks and be ready to consume the main course.

  2. September 16, 2006 at 7:35 pm

    Is anybody else getting hungry from reading all this?????

    🙂

    I am convinced that the saved are those who have partaken by believing on the Lord Jesus Christ. Since they are saved, they then follow in baptism, church membership, and partaking of the elements at Communion. Those who say that they have believed yet have no interest in the ordinances have a spurious testimony that should not be accepted by the Lord’s churches.

    Good article, Pastor Factor.

  3. tjp
    September 16, 2006 at 8:05 pm

    Hammerhead,

    So would you consign to the column of unbelief those like some hyperdispensationalists who reject the Lord’s Table as an ordinance for today?

  4. September 18, 2006 at 10:04 am

    TJP,

    I would not regard them as New Testament Christians. I am a New Testament Baptist by Scriptural conviction. Rejecters of the Lord’s Table do not fit the model established in the Book.

  5. tjp
    September 18, 2006 at 10:58 am

    Hammerhead,

    If you don’t regard them as NT Christians, then what do you regard them as, if you regard them as Christians at all?

    And what is a NT Baptist? I’ve heard of the Way (Acts 24:14), Christians (Acts 11:26), and the sect of the Nazarenes (Acts 24:5), but NT Baptists? Which book are they found in? Surly you have a “model established in the Book” for your belief, no?

  6. September 19, 2006 at 7:58 pm

    TJP,

    I’m just wondering if TJP stands for Thomas J. Pryde?

    I do not regard as Christians those who refuse the Lord’s Supper.

  7. September 26, 2006 at 7:46 pm

    While I would like to know who the people are we interact with here, I don’t think it really matters whether TJP is Thomas J. Pryde or Timothy Jefferson Poindexter!

    He, so far, has brought thoughtful comments to our posts.

    I assume that they are his own initials, which is more “revealing” about who he is than anonymous, Baptist, and Young Fundy.

    So, I hope he continues to comment and interact with the ideas we put forth here.

  8. September 26, 2006 at 8:07 pm

    Jeff,

    I can’t believe that Young Fundy hasn’t told you his real name yet. I thought for sure that you knew. If you drop him an email I’m sure he’ll tell you. If you want I’ll get on his case to fill you in on his identity. It seems I have his ear.

    Did you like his stuff at the Just Kidding! site? It seems that I remember you commenting there.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
