Home > Brandenburg, Prayer, Questions > Does God Give Me Any Thing I Desire?

Does God Give Me Any Thing I Desire?

January 10, 2007

One of my favorite subjects is prayer.  I am not trying to be controversial about it.  I think it should be one of the most talked about subjects.  The disciples said:  “Teach us to pray.”  I want to know about prayer.

You probably knew that 1 John 5:15 says:

And if we know that he hear us, whatsoever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we desired of him.

There it is.  God hears us and gives us what we desire.  Right?  You want a Mercedes?  It’s yours.  You want the Bentley instead?  Go for it.  Recently we got the prayer-of-Jabez guy, Wilkerson, saying something similar.  Enlarge my garage.  Scratch that, an auto stable.  Name it, claim it.

We must get the answer for this from this context.  What say ye?

Categories: Brandenburg, Prayer, Questions
  1. January 10, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    Before you all get out the HAMMER and start trashing my answer, please read my DISCLAIMER: I’m winging this answer, just to get it started. I glanced at the passage. That’s all. I didn’t look at the Hebrew behind 1 John 5:15.

    There. Now first, in context the passage is talking about him hearing us when we ask according to his will. If I ask according to his will, he hears me. If he hears me, then I have the petition that I desired. Therefore, if I ask according to his will, then I have the petition that I desired.

    Psalm 37:4 also says (promises, in fact) that if I delight myself in the Lord, he will give me the desires of my heart.

    That being said, I would simply point out that if I delight myself in the Lord, then my desires will be what He desires. I will ask according to his will. So, my desires will be for what He wants, not for what I want. I will want what pleases him, not necessarily what I want to consume upon my lusts.

  2. January 10, 2007 at 5:02 pm

    Well now. I revved up my handy-dandy computerized Bible; looked up the Hebrew for this passage, and still could not find anything better than what the Mallet Factor has said.

    I guess I can’t be asking for that auto stable.

    Can I ask for safety in my auto?

  3. January 10, 2007 at 10:37 pm

    You guys are very good, the two other compadres rescuing the post, whipping up interest. Personally, I think prayer is very interesting. I am preaching through Mark on Wednesday nights and after Jesus shooed off the disciples in Mark 6 into their little boat, he went up into a mountain to pray. Same chapter, before He did the miracle with the loaves, He looked up and prayed. I think that is so interesting and I could say a load about both those situations. They mean something, both. To start, Larry and Moe (that makes me Curly, but I’m probably more of a Larry with Mallet as Curly), the NT was written in Greek, but you knew that; you were feigning lack of language. Looking at the previous verse was a good thing. I am just glad you were interested. Let me go one step further for your interest and mention the word “desire.” Yes, that word. Interesting word.

  4. January 10, 2007 at 11:54 pm

    Oh, Greek! Is that the GNT tab in my Bible program?

    OK, now I looked at the KJV+(strongs). Ask (vs. 14), Ask (vs. 15), Desire (vs. 15) = all same word. Does that make it interesting?

    I don’t know if I’m following you exactly. But, as I’ve been looking at the context, I have this other question. It seems to me that the next verse says that if someone has sinned a “sin unto death,” that there is no use to even pray for him. It seems like that is what the phrase “I do not say that he shall pray for it.” indicates to me. Is that the meaning there?

    Also, my last line was a serious one. Is it biblical to ask for “travelling mercies”?

    Thanks,
    Larry
    or am I Moe?

  5. January 11, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    Larry’s bald, so I probably have to be Larry. I think Curly had the reddish hair and a similar complexion as Mallet, so by default, you’re Moe.

    We shouldn’t pray for the sick; that’s my conclusion from the next verse. I don’t totally mean that, but here is a statement that I believe. Nowhere does the NT explicitly teach to pray for the sick. In the following context, yes, don’t even pray for certain people. No way could it be in God’s will to pray for certain people.

    I don’t know of any place in Scripture that shows a prayer for traveling mercies. I could say more about that, but I am leaving it at that for now.

    YES! Ask, ask, and desired are the same word! You are one up on most people. However, desired is different than the others, which is why the translators translated it differently. I wonder how that is? 🙂

  6. January 11, 2007 at 9:46 pm

    “One up on most people”! Who else is here?

    “I wonder how that is?”

    Me too. I give in. Please let us know. I looked at my GNT tab and lost heart. I know I could look in other places, but I have too many other things on my “plate” right now. Maybe Curly or some other avid reader will give us the answer!

    Thanks,
    Moe

  7. January 11, 2007 at 9:48 pm

    Oh, is it just the tense? Desired is past tense (asked); Ask is present tense?

  8. January 13, 2007 at 8:57 am

    Hey there hammer folk…

    In this one, the previous verse is the key. “And this is the
    confidence that we have in him, that, if we ask any thing according
    to his will, he heareth us”. This verse contains a conditional
    statement that explains the confidence we have in him. What is the
    confidence we have in him? “If we ask anything according to his
    will…” This particular type of conditional statement has the sense
    of ‘whenever’, so you could say it “Whenever we ask …” So that is
    the confidence we have, when we ask according to his will, he hears us.

    Moving on to the subject verse: “And if we know that he hear us,
    whatsoever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we desired
    of him.” This is a different type of conditional statement, one that
    assumes the first part of the condition as fact. It is not “since we
    know he hears us” but “On that basis” or “Assuming” that he hears us.
    That is, there are prayers that we know are heard of God, those that
    are asked according to his will. With that as the basis of our
    understanding, if we are asking one of those sorts of prayers, then
    we can ask with supreme confidence, because we know not only that he
    hears us but that he answers those kinds of prayers.

    The key is to seek out the will of God and pray it, I’m thinking.

    Regards,
    Don Johnson
    Jer 33.3

  9. January 13, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    Thanks for the brilliant additions guys. V. 14, third class conditional, that is, it is possible we will not ask in His will. If we do, He will hear us. V. 15, first class conditional, since he will hear those who pray in His will, they can have confidence of an answer. Now, regarding “ask” (aiteo)—first time in v. 14, present tense. Second, time, v. 15, present tense. Third time, v. 15, perfect tense. That’s likely why the translators used “desired.” Things that we desire in this context are things that we will ask with the results ongoing. Things we truly desire are things that we will persist in prayer for. We will keep asking (asking, seeking, knocking). God knows what we really desire and those are the things that He will give us. Our desires will manifest themselves in importunity.  This might be controversial, but I believe it—God doesn’t want our list, but our desires.  He doesn’t want what we have to read, but what we can’t forget because it is in our heart and mind.  He wants to give His children what they desire, not what they enunciate thoughtlessly off a piece of paper.

  10. January 14, 2007 at 8:12 pm

    I knew that.

  11. James Shepherd
    March 20, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    Going back to the original question I would like to reference Matt. 21:22. And all things, whatsoever ye shall ask in prayer, believing, ye shall receive.

    I think too many Christians think faith and believing mean that if they believed God could move a mountain it would be moved. Faith is not a could but a would and should. I full well believe that if I thought I deserved a mercedes from God and that he should give it to me I would get one. Unfortunately if I believed that, I probably wouldn’t be a child of God who realizes that I deserve only hell and God has given me heaven already.
    On the flip side of this belief, I also think most Christians sell God short and spend too much time convincing everyone why God wouldn’t answer that particular prayer. No one that I know of in the Bible ever had a recorded prayer that was not answered. I pray because I love my father and want to spend time with him. The fact that he answers my prayers is a given, provided I have faith that what I am asking is according to God’s will and something he would do for me.
    Just for record, I prayed last week for a girl who had ulsers on her eyes. The doctor told her that she would almost certainly be blind in a week. He evidently didn’t know I was praying for her and that we have a God who answers the prayers of his children. She was healed. I feel like the blind man God healed when I say. Whether or not we should pray for sick people I know not, this I know, a girl was going blind and now she can see. God is awesome and he does answer prayers. By the way, if it is not the will of God to heal sick people what was Jesus Christ doing and Peter and the apostles, etc. etc. I know, were not in that “dispensation” any more. My Bible says “I am the Lord, I change not.”
    One last note on praying for safety on a trip. I think we are splitting hairs here, but again I don’t recall anywhere in the Bible where God specifies things he doen’t want us to pray about. Instead he tells us what type of people we need to be for him to listen. If we are to pray without ceasing and we go on a trip, I would imagin God might like to know that we are depending on him for safety. I have never in my life made an entry on one of these things and may never again. I came accross this by accident and found my zeal running away with my keyboard. I love my Father and He loves me. He answers my prayers all the time, almost every time. But I don’t even care. I just want to fall on my face and talk to my heavenly “Dady” and hear him say everything is ok.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
