Home > The Gospel, Voegtlin > The Gospel Is Changing — Everything (Part 2)

The Gospel Is Changing — Everything (Part 2)

March 24, 2007

In part one under this title, I made the point that grace and the gospel are clearly linked throughout the Scriptures.

I marvel that ye are so soon removed from him that called you into the grace of Christ unto another gospel: Galatians 1:6

I would now like to make some practical applications of this truth. We are saved by grace. The gospel is the power of God unto salvation. In salvation, I recognized that I could do nothing; I had to turn from myself to Jesus Christ; and He did it all. This is the grace of the gospel.Â

But grow in grace, and in the knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be glory both now and forever. Amen. 2 Peter 3:18

Thou therefore, my son, be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus. 2 Timothy 2:1

Wherefore we receiving a kingdom which cannot be moved, let us have grace, whereby we may serve God acceptably with reverence and godly fear: Hebrews 12:28

And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 2 Corinthians 12:9

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me. I do not frustrate the grace of God: for if righteousness come by the law, then Christ is dead in vain. O foolish Galatians, who hath bewitched you, that ye should not obey the truth, before whose eyes Jesus Christ hath been evidently set forth, crucified among you? This only would I learn of you, Received ye the Spirit by the works of the law, or by the hearing of faith? Are ye so foolish? having begun in the Spirit, are ye now made perfect by the flesh? Galatians 2:20-3:3

CloudsIn all these passages, Christians are taught some truth about grace in their lives presently. Grace is not some type of ethereal cloud that comes over us and envelopes our life. In the gospel, we recognized that we could do nothing; we recognized that Christ had to do it all; we turned from ourselves and by faith, trusted in Christ for eternal life. Since we are not foolish, we must continue (we must be made perfect) in the same way.

You grow in grace when you trust Christ more than yourself each day. You are strong in grace when you are not strong yourself. You have grace when you live through each decision the same way you made your salvation decision (not of yourself). You make it through trials and testing by grace, trusting Christ. Trusting Christ is sufficient. You don’t frustrate the grace of God when you seek Him for each decision that must be made.

You do frustrate the grace of God when you think you can live your life on your own except for during church, devotions, and evangelism. “Having begun in the Spirit, are ye now made perfect in the flesh?” We need God’s grace every hour of every day. We need God’s grace when we eat, when we drive, when we work, when we fellowship; we need it all the time. If you are not depending on God’s grace more today than yesterday, you’re not growing in grace.

And God is able to make all grace abound toward you; that ye, always having all sufficiency in all things, may abound to every good work: (As it is written, He hath dispersed abroad; he hath given to the poor: his righteousness remaineth forever. Now he that ministereth seed to the sower both minister bread for your food, and multiply your seed sown, and increase the fruits of your righteousness;) Being enriched in every thing to all bountifulness, which causeth through us thanksgiving to God. 2 Corinthians 9:8-11

In order to do any work for God, we must be living the gospel. We must live each day just like we did the moment we were saved by grace.

Even so faith, if it hath not works, is dead, being alone. James 2:17

Faith without works is dead, but works without faith (grace) is deadly. Living in the flesh kills…, even if it looks spiritual.

Categories: The Gospel, Voegtlin
  1. Bobby Mitchell
    March 24, 2007 at 9:38 am

    Great stuff. The same grace that saves sees us sanctified, serving, satisfied, striving, stablished, and strengthened. We trust and obey in response to the grace of God. This is good stuff, Jeff, and it is encouraging me and stirring my heart and mind concerning the subject.

  2. March 24, 2007 at 1:42 pm

    Thanks for the comments, Bobby.

    And the alliterated outline!

  3. March 24, 2007 at 5:06 pm

    Maybe I am just oversimplifying it, but I always thought that there is nothing God does outside of the realm of grace. God’s grace is manifested through our salvation, the food we eat, the water we drink, the gravity that holds us onto the planet, the strong-nuclear force that holds the nucleus of our atoms together. Everything God does is grace. Even mercy is grace. We are getting the protection from getting what we deserve. Well, I guess Hell would not be grace. Because in hell, they are getting exactly what they deserve which, by definition, not grace. But grace is shown by His Son so that we do not have to go there though. Well, enough rambling.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
