Home > Brandenburg, Discourse > I Feel

I Feel

June 28, 2007

How much does it matter how I feel?  The people of Israel were in trouble, Hosea said in 4:6, because of a lack of what?  Knowledge.  I’m sure they had plenty of feelings.  We are sanctified through the truth, not through our feelings.

Have you noticed how exalted feelings have become in determining the will of God?  I think peace is important, but as a byproduct.  We go through all the objective criteria and we have good feelings in the end if everything lines up with the Word of God.

I can’t argue with your feelings.  I’m sure you have them, but they don’t prove anything.  They mean something to you.  I can “feel” sorry about how you “feel.”  I might even say, “I’m sorry you feel that way.”  That probably won’t change how I think about something though.

Categories: Brandenburg, Discourse
  1. Pastor Travis Burke
    June 28, 2007 at 9:05 am

    Since becoming pastor, I have realized how “feelings” are hindering the work of God. How many times do you hear as pastor, “I just don’t feel the same way you do…” “I don’t feel the Lord is leading me to do this…” “I just don’t love him any more….” “I am afraid to do this or that…” ALL FEELINGS!
    Feelings are a great follower, but a terrible leader!
    The Israelites KNEW the will of God for them to enter the promise land, but they did not b/c they “were afraid” (feelings). It cost them everything.
    Samson ‘loved’ a woman named Deliah. Feelings!
    We must not determine the will of God based upon emotions and feelings. What does the Word of God say about a matter…that is all that matters. And a bigee is this….people do not know how to talk to or hear from God anymore, so they base decisions on feelings. Parents, teach your children to hear and speak to God. Pastors, take the time to talk to and listen to God. Laymen, be still and listen to God.
    Because of a lack of knowledge and the inability to speak and hear from God…mission fields set empty w/out churches, churches are without pastors, people are marrying based upon looks and feelings and missing the will of God…the list could go on and on.
    Amen on this post Pastor B! ~also, I hear you may be stealing one of my young ladies from me…..Amen! She will be a blessing!

  2. June 28, 2007 at 9:38 am

    I felt very good about your comment, Pastor Burke. I hope you don’t feel bad about us getting one of your young ladies. Just wanted to let you know how I felt. A heart-felt thanks.

  3. Pastor Travis Burke
    June 28, 2007 at 10:24 am

    It makes me feel good that other people feel good, if everybody felt as good as I did, the world would feel so much better. I feel as if some may miss the meaning of this entire post, please don’t let that make you feel bad though.
    Concerning the young lady…I am thrilled that she will be in (what I can tell from the past year reading the posts on this web site) in a doctrinally sound church. I believe the doctrine she was taught will be continued to be taught in the days ahead. Thank you for giving this preacher and some parents that confidence.

  4. cathy
    June 28, 2007 at 12:43 pm

    Maybe I am wrong, maybe it is all about feelings. I often get told I am too harsh or jaded, but if we look at ourself, our feelings, wants and desires, and compare that to what is fair and what isn’t, and hold that up to the Cross, and what our Lord gave for us. It isn’t about “our feelings”, man or woman. It is about what is the Lord’s feelings about the issue. Those feelings are relayed to us through the Scriptures.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
