Home > Jack Schaap, Mallinak > Kneeling Tom Neal

Kneeling Tom Neal

October 19, 2007

I was at lunch with my Pastor (Mark Short), a guest, and Pastor Short’s parents when the news came that Jack Hyles was dead. Pastor Short announced it at the table. I can still picture the table. And I remember vividly the response from Pastor Short’s mother. You would have to know her to appreciate this. When Pastor Short announced the passing of Hyles, she slapped the table and said, “Well, he knows who God is now!”

Sadly, we find ourselves wondering whether Tom Neal knows yet. One prominent feature of the political posturing between Hammond and Orange Park has been the embarrassing display of worshipful adoration directed towards All Things Jack. Tom Neal makes an art form out of genuflecting any time the name of Hyles is dropped. And recently, in a brilliant exchange, Neal has taken up genuflecting with clenched fist, shaking it in the air at All Things Schaap. Truly he fights as one that beateth the air.

For many years now, Tom Neal has been setting the table, positioning himself for this time in Hammond’s history. Before Hyles’ death, Neal’s Baptist Contender was consumed with Hyles. Consider the issue of the Contender dated April and May, 1998. This particular issue is dedicated to one of those famous “Pentecost Sundays,” and emblazoned across the front is this statement: Dr. Jack Hyles and the First Baptist Church of Hammond, Indiana Baptizes 5,112!

Following that, we have a short explanatory paragraph that includes this statement: Dr. Jack Hyles has accomplished a task that has not been duplicated since Peter, and the rest of the apostles saw three thousand baptized at the day of Pentacost (sic).

That issue of the Contender features comments from both Editor and Son on the great success of Hyles, laced of course with unhealthy doses of nose-thumbings, nah-nah-na-nah-nah’s and IN YOUR FACE’s. It includes prominent comics of Shelton Smith (and others) distancing themselves from Hammond, a sermon by Hyles, an ad for Youth Conference at Hammond, another for Berean Baptist College (home of the Jack Hyles School of the Bible), a book section from a Jack Hyles book, and another book section from a different Jack Hyles book. Only two items, a sermon by Neal and an interview with Dr. J. Don Chitty, are not directly of Hyles.

That was B.D. (Before Death). A.D. (After Death), the IBC changed its emphasis. The February/March 2003 issue proclaimed in the masthead, “Perpetuating and Protecting the Principles and Philosophies of Dr. Jack Hyles.” And of course that issue, almost in tabloid fashion, was filled with “All Things Bad about Jack Schaap.”

We saw it coming. I am in possession of a letter from Tom Neal, dated March 29, 2001, explaining his absence from that year’s Pastor’s School. On a sticky note attached to my copy of the letter, in the handwriting of Pastor Mark Short (my pastor at the time) is this observation:

Only one time does he mention a name of God anywhere, in the very last sentence. This letter seems to indicate Jack Hyles was his “god.”

I have reproduced the letter in its entirety below. I’ve added emphasis where appropriate.

My Dear Brother,

I am writing this letter in the hope of clearing up some misconceptions and misunderstandings regarding my absence from this year’s Pastor’s School. Let me begin by saying that I have no ill will or malice at all toward First Baptist Church of Hammond, Hyles-Anderson College, or their new pastor, Dr. Jack Schaap. There are rumors that I am planning an attack against them in the Baptist Contender. The whole purpose of the Baptist Contender was to defend Dr. Jack Hyles. My record will show that no one has been more vocal in the defense of Dr. Jack Hyles, Hyles-Anderson College, and First Baptist Church. I want everyone to know that I wish the very best for Dr. Schaap, and for the continued success of First Baptist Church and Hyles-Anderson College.

Dr. Hyles and I had a unique relationship that was one of my greatest treasures. Our hearts were knit together; and I was blessed to be the recipient of so much of his time, interest and instruction. I loved him with a love that I cannot adequately express. There has not been one day since his home going that I have not wept. It has been said of me — and I consider it a great compliment — that Tom Neal is all about Jack Hyles. My agenda was to please him.

I told Dr. Ray Young before Pastor’s School that I could not come. I said that it was too sacred to me, for every success I have, I owe to Pastor’s School and Dr. Hyles. It wasn’t just a place of fellowship to me. I could not imagine how I could have dealt with Dr. Hyles not being there. Also at this time, my granddaughter is at the point of death. It was no reflection on Dr. Schaap or anyone else; it was all about Dr. Jack Hyles.

I will continue to promote Dr. Hyles and the principles he taught us. I will honor Mrs. Hyles’ request that we not waste his life. We are starting another new building program that he approved. He gave me advice and instruction about the future that I am determined to follow. I have never sought position, nor have I ever claimed any special leadership. I feel the same as most people who loved Dr. Hyles. We all hurt and feel a little less secure.

Dr. Schaap and I had a warm exchange at Dr. Hyles’ memorial service, and he thanked me for my friendship to Dr. Hyles.

May we all pray for each other, love, promote, and defend our cause, for it is bigger than any of us. It is my desire that Jesus and Bro. Hyles be proud of me.

Sincerely,

Tom Neal

TN:ban

It, of course, reads like a Confession of Faith. One might note all the Creedal Statements and the extensive language of worship that Tom Neal uses. For the regular reader of JackHammer, there is no need for me to point out the problems with this letter. We see Tom Neal’s idolatrous allegiance. We see it plainly.

However, for the sake of the Tom Neal apologists, I should point out that Tom Neal’s agenda is an idolatrous one. If Tom Neal was all about Charles Spurgeon, if Tom Neal’s agenda was to please Spurgeon, if his desire was that Jesus and Spurgeon be proud of him, I would call it idolatry. Tom Neal puts Jack Hyles on the same level as Jesus; the fourth member of the Trinity.

Revelation 4:11 Thou art worthy, O Lord, to receive glory and honour and power: for thou hast created all things, and for thy pleasure they are and were created.

Revelation 5:12 Saying with a loud voice, Worthy is the Lamb that was slain to receive power, and riches, and wisdom, and strength, and honour, and glory, and blessing.

But, in many cases, I would succeed more if I explained all this to Betsy the Cow, than to a full-fledged Hylot. To borrow from a common HAC saying, the only difference between explaining this to a Hylot and explaining it to Betsy the Cow would be the intelligent look on Betsy the Cow’s face.

Of course, Tom and Greg and Brent and all the Kneeling Neals have taken up the sword, very predictably, in the name of Jack (Hyles that is). Unless you are, as Greg so eloquently put it, drinking the kool aid (not Schaap’s, of course; the other kool aid), you see the irony behind Neal’s saber rattling in an oh-so-clearly-way.

Schaap is a “heretic.” Hyles wasn’t. They are standing, suddenly, for the Lord (which is synonymous with standing for Hyles).

But this exhibits, not the Neal’s loyalty to TRUTH, but rather their loyalty to ORTHODOXY. To borrow from an idea of G.K. Chesterton, every culture has its own orthodoxy, its own set of fundamental truths, and every culture has its antithesis, which we call heresy. In this case, orthodoxy is whatever Jack Hyles said. The fundamental conviction can be summarized in two statements: first, Jack Hyles is right. Second, even when he’s wrong, he’s still right.

The “heresy” shows up when anyone else says anything that Hyles never said. Schaap has, in a few short years, heaped up a barge-load of “unorthodox” statements. Thus, he has earned himself the badge of “Heretic.”

In this short series on All Things Jack, we have attempted to catalogue the many heresies of both Jacks. Hyles blasphemed the name of God, denied the truth of God’s Word, and set himself up as “God’s pastor” throughout the course of his life. Jack Schaap is no better. He digs to the middle of the trash heap to find the ripest chunk of new doctrine. And meanwhile, Tom Neal insists on arguing that Jannes was right, and Jambres wrong.

Earlier, we linked a letter that Greg Neal wrote to John Shook. In it, Neal highlights the heresies of Jack Schaap. For example, he says,

When Jack Schaap humanizes God does it bring joy to your heart? When Jack Schaap teaches that the Holy Spirit has a sin nature, does it bring joy to your heart?

Of course, Jack Hyles did the same thing, and repeatedly. Consider this statement from Hyles:

Jesus was always the man-like person of the godhead.

Or this one:

Jesus always has been man and always will be, and just became flesh at Bethlehem.

Or this one:

Jesus always was possessed with a human nature.

Not to mention the many times that Hyles spoke of manipulating God, in sermons such as “The Helpless God,” “How to Argue with God and Win,” “I am only Human,” and “How to Make God Your Slave.” Consider this quote:

Did you know, for example, if the First Baptist Church of Hammond, Indiana, went under, it would be a catastrophe for the cause of Christ in this area and around the world? That means if God does not take care of our needs, He is going to be in bad shape, isn’t He?

Or this one:

The Old Testament saints knew God so well they maneuvered with God. They all started off, “Thou, the great God of Jacob, Thou the God of the creation, Thou the God that made the stars.”

So, why does it bother Greg Neal when Jack Schaap humanizes God, but not when Jack Hyles did it?

The answer could actually be found in a later statement that Greg made to John Shook:

That is the great difference between me and you. You defend man while I defend Jesus. (emphasis mine)

Sounds good, right? Except that the Kneeling Neals get confused between Jack Hyles and Jesus. They aren’t sure yet whether there is an actual distinction.

Categories: Jack Schaap, Mallinak
  1. JAX
    October 19, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    hey
    well i’m one of those “fbc” teens and some of you guys really need to get your facts staight about what we believe. but i’m just a teen what do i know right? ha i most likly know a whole lot more than you do since i go there. but whatever you’re right you know better than anyone.(sarcasim) oh quick thought if you don’t like us or BRO. SCHAAP then you don’t have to do anything with our church. nobody says you have to so mind your own business and get a life.:)

  2. Former Ruckmanite
    October 19, 2007 at 5:01 pm

    It truely is unfortunate that some have made my preacher and his father-in-law out to be equal to Jesus. It is even more unfortunate that some people take the time to devote an entire article to make a Baptist look so stupid. I’m sure many are glad that the next time I knock on some lost person’s door and present him with the gospel of Christ that he will see on the tract “A Ministry of First Baptist Church of Hammond” and will have just so conveniently read your articles. I’m sure many are so glad that the sinner at the door will automaticaly shut me out when I try to win him to the Lord. I’m sure many are happy that he could very well burn in hell for all of eternity. Thanks for devoting your time to talking about what’s wrong with other Baptists and not even teaching one single bible truth. All hale the Almighty Jackhammer, savior of the world from such ignorance as FBC Hammond. All hale the Almighty Jackhammer who would rather minister questions then Godly edifying. All hale the Almighty Jackhammer who knows all there is to know about other men’s ministries and… aparently… the Bible (since you take it upon yourself to say that something that is unorthodox must be heretical). All hale the Almighty Jackhammer that sees something wrong with following a man of God as he follows Christ. Holy Holy Holy Jackhammer.

  3. October 19, 2007 at 11:42 pm

    Two comments about the last two comments:
    1) They were pretty much balloons floated in the introductory post to this months topic. Those balloons are now popped.
    2) They provide illustration of the problem about which we are writing. The second one assuming that we would do this for praise, perhaps because this is modus operandi of the group from which he comes. The Bio title could read: Ruckman to Hyles: Frying Pan to the Fire.

    One comment about the post:
    Very interesting read. Spot on. And to use the pheasant hunting metaphor—you phlushed them out.

  4. October 20, 2007 at 9:12 am

    You can always tell when the Hylots come to comment. First, they have a fettish for the “Caps Lock” key, and a complete disregard for the spell-checker. Second, they never actually read what you say: they simply find out if it is a favorable post or not, and when they see that it is unfavorable, they swat at it. Third, their words always have the polemic impact of balled up TP tossed across a room.

    I think most who are genuinely concerned that the lost repent and be saved (as we at JackHammer are) are actually glad IF what Former Ruckmanite is claiming comes true. From what is preached at FBC Hammond, the most dangerous thing for a lost soul is to really listen to the preaching, both from the pulpit and at the door, that comes out of this church.

    We are not happy if any lost sinner burns in hell for all of eternity. Which is why we think it important that people be warned about the things that are preached from the Hammond Pulpit.

  5. October 20, 2007 at 7:25 pm

    When I was a child getting your bible signed by various preachers was really hip (why did we ever do that??). Jack Hyles was the most illusive specimen. No one I knew had his John Hancock. I remember the thrill when Jack Hyles, who never arrived before the service began nor stayed through the entire invitation, came in the back doors and sat next to my Father on the back row since he was head usher. I quickly opened a completely empty leaf in my Bible and motioned to my dad who passed my green Bible to Jack. I watched as he signed. When I got it back, Hyles had signed in the middle of the page taking half the area of the page, enough for 12 or so “regular pastors”. I never let anyone else sign that page. I was 8 years old. Even then, I knew “how it was”. I am so glad that, years later, my Pastor had the sense (not to mention God’s leading) to expose Jack to our church and break the adoration many of us had developed for Jack.

    My cousin Mike became a Hyles worshiper. I was distressed 15+ years ago to see him fall under the influence of Hyles. He had his picture taken with Jack Hyles and several other HAC students posing as Mafia figures with Tommy-guns (no crime here, the truth is always right). He hung it up on his wall in a most prominent place. His wife was neglected to the point of leaving him and finding a worldly man to pay attention to her, but Hyles never lacked for affection.

    He told me about one time when Hyles came into chapel and the student body erupted into adulations not seen since the allies liberated Europe! Hyles strutted slowly across the stage with his hands in the air and finally held his hand up as if to say “thank you, that’s enough”. The student body came to a halt.

    Mike was telling me all this trying to convey how great HAC was. Even at the time, I couldn’t understand how HE couldn’t see that this man-worship was idolatry!!

    By the way, I was careful to use the spell-checker! 🙂

  6. Cathy
    October 21, 2007 at 1:20 pm

    3 Things

    I detest the Bible signing as Mr. Hodge speaks about. I was in church as a teenager that it was the very in “thing” to do. I also had the golden signature of Hyles, but I had 2 of Pastor Roger Voegtlins in my bible (I did that on purpose).

    Now as an adult, I see it more of man worshipping practice then anything else. I refuse to let my daughters engage in such a practice.

    Also as for the spell checker jab, let’s be fair. Our very own newly appointed PHD. on Jackhammr has spelling issues as well, that is not always caught by spell checker or spell checker isn’t always used, and he not only graduated from Fairhaven, but runs the college. Spelling a word write (Ha Ha) doesn’t really count for someones intelligence or education background.

    The most important thing. I am just curious about.
    What do you do with a member that knows they are saved because they prayed the 123 after me prayer, but don’t actually recall repenting of their sins? They are living for God, they have for many years, but they don’t recall the repentence part when they got saved? Also along those same lines, can someone be saved because they do not want to go to hell, thus prayed the 123 pray after me prayer, or must they feel called by God to be saved.

    Is salvation only through confessing and repenting, or is it the faith that you will be saved because Christ died for you, and turning your back on your former lifestyle?

    I know this is alot. But many thoughts like this just pound through my head.

    As a teenager, I asked a staff member of my school (my school was made up of half Fairhaven and half HAC graduates) what was the biggest difference between First Baptist and Fairhaven? To the best of my recollection I was told. That Dr. Hyles taught more aggressive style soulwinning then Dr. Voegtlin. Voegtlin taught spirit lead salvation and Hyles was more forceful all can be saved.

  7. October 22, 2007 at 10:55 am

    First of all, I grew up in an Independent Baptist preacher’s home. My dad taught me to never depend too much on the reputation or notoriety of any preacher. I am eternally grateful for that advice.

    Having said that, he also encouraged me to get visiting preachers (and especially missionaries) to sign my Bible. This was done as a mark of respect and to remind me of the faithful men who came and preached at our church.

    Have some of those men who signed my Bible fallen by the wayside? I’m sure they have. That does not mean that all respect for the man of God is wrong.

    No one (except perhaps former Hylots) has less time for the Hyles/Schaap nonsense than I do. However, let’s not “throw out the baby with the bath water.”

  8. Jennfer Dye
    October 22, 2007 at 7:08 pm

    You people on here bad mouthing these two great preachers,do you not have anything better to do.GET A LIFE and by the way Jack Hammer if you can’t put your real name you are a coward.If you had ever been to a church service you will see he only preaches out of the Bible.I would hope you get your heart right anyone on here blasting their name and what they believe it is you that need churchin.GET A LIFE I live in South Carolina and the times I have been there I have enjoyed every bit of the preaching.You better just get use to liking these two preachers cause you are not gonna enjoy heaven.They will be there where will you BE!

  9. October 23, 2007 at 7:55 am

    Miss or Mrs. Dye,

    A lot of people preach “out of the Bible”, and that is the problem. The Hyle/Schaap “style” of “preaching” is way out of the Bible. Satan preaches “out of the Bible” too.

    By the way, you might want to read Matthew 7:22-23 again.
    Matthew 7:22-23
    (22) Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works?
    (23) And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity.

    I am more concerned with people who claim to do “great things” for God without respect for His Word. I am afraid many of them will hear the above words from our Lord.

  10. October 27, 2007 at 10:07 am

    and by the way Jack Hammer if you can’t put your real name you are a coward.

    But what if Jack Hammer is a real person?

    Bet you never thought of that, huh.

  11. Mary
    November 22, 2007 at 5:14 pm

    let’s see who gets the most rewards in heaven you with nothing better to do then sit around all day critiquing sermons or the ones who spent most of their days winning lost souls to Christ!

  12. November 22, 2007 at 7:19 pm

    The ones who obey the Lord and His Word and critique the teachings of others Biblically will no doubt get the reward God intends to give them, and those who Biblically attempt to win souls will have their reward as well. However, there is going to be no reward for soulwinning attempts that go contrary to the Scriptures – or else all the cults and false religions are chock full of reward-deserving adherents.

  13. November 22, 2007 at 8:31 pm

    Mary, you all, no doubt, will get your reward.

  14. Christopher Nelsen
    November 22, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    Mary,
    I spoke to Dave off line,and told him of a Paster here in Milwaukee who teaches that Christ was totured in hell,how the o.t saints are sill in Abrahams bossom,that when the bible,in mathew says there was two in the feild and then there was one,he says that talking of the Jews in the tribulation period,and that the repentance of sins folks believe you can give back your salvation(which is why Hyles called them enemies to soul winning)and that he learned all this from Fairhaven…Dave agreed this was wrong teaching….yet promotes Fairhaven on this website,then has the nerve to try and call out a heretic……that paster I spoke to him about is Peder (yes I spelled it right) Methem………check out the debate on ” An open challenge to Jack Hyles followers” on this HammerJack site it’s funny the way they add to God’s Word and dismiss the scripture!!!!!!!!

  15. November 23, 2007 at 10:57 am

    Christopher,

    Pastor Methum has been to our church (Fairhaven), but he was not trained at Fairhaven Baptist Church. I don’t think I need to go much further into addressing this. Everyone else can read the rest of your comments on this site to see how much stock to put into your claims of factual information.

    It would be hard not to “promote” Fairhaven on this website since I’m the one who originated the idea for it and I’m an assistant pastor there. So…

    Fairhaven does not teach that O.T. saints are still in Abraham’s bosom — Christ “led captivity captive…” and took them all to heaven.

    Our understanding of two being in the field and one being taken is that this refers to the rapture.

    Fairhaven preaches that repentance of sin (not each individual sin) is necessary to salvation. Although we would not insist that the word “repentance” be used in every presentation of the gospel. Whether “repentance of sins folks believe you can give back your salvation” is true or not, I can’t say. I’ve never heard of that. Besides, what would it matter what we said that other people believed anyway?

    As far as Christ being tortured in Hell, I’m speaking for myself here and answering without doing a thorough study (which indicates that this is not a common topic here at Fairhaven). In Acts 2, Peter indicates that Christ was in Hell. The Bible also teaches that Christ paid the penalty for our sin. If he did that and we deserve Hell, why would it be such a grievous error to think that Christ suffered our torture in Hell?

    So that’s a little of what “Fairhaven” believes and teaches. I figured you’d want to know from someone who does some of the teaching rather than from someone who has visited a few times.

  16. Ronald Cliffford Williams
    November 25, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    In the summer of 1959 or 1960, I was a student of Bob Jones and Jack Hyles spoke at the chapel service in the Homer Rodeheaver Auditorium. He spoke about Jesus being God Almighty in the flesh. That message changed my doctrinal views forever. Early in my life, I had a next door neighbor who indoctrinated me with the Jehovah Witness Doctrine. After Jack’s sermon, I had a newer and deeper respect for my Lord Jesus. I had thought Jesus was only a human with no previous existence. Once I got it straightened out in my head about the Supreme Almighty Authority that Jesus Christ had, my christian life began to grow. I thank Dr Jack Hyles for that. After the sermon, I met Jack Hyles and thanked him. I met Jack 2 more times in my life. Once in Garland, Texas and once in Hammond, Indiana in 1970. I don’t know all about the smut that has been said about my friend Jack but I do know one thing, Jack Hyles was one of the most electric personalities I have ever met other than my friend Arthur Blessitt who I knew and witnessed to others with in the late sixties at the Sunset Strip in West Hollywood. Dr Jack Hyles had greatly influenced my christian life forever. Jack was a human, I do not excuse Jack for any wrongs he may have done but God forgives while man keeps on judging and condemning. Lay down the gauntlet of Judgementalism and get on with your lives. Remember the good for what Jack Hyles did for the Lord and let God rewrite the final word on Jack Hyles.

  17. HammerJacks Blacklisted Donkey
    November 25, 2007 at 7:25 pm

    Jeff,I’m glad you don’t teach all that Methum teaches,but I pray for your postion on repentance because that is an issue of doctrine!….I also hope that you’ll pay attention to the blog “a challenge to followers of Jack Hyles” as I prove this truth.

    Ronald,I’m glad you spoke in defence of Hyles,more importantly,…I’m glad it was someone who knew him personally.

  18. Bobby
    November 26, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    Jeff== “As far as Christ being tortured in Hell, I’m speaking for myself here and answering without doing a thorough study (which indicates that this is not a common topic here at Fairhaven). In Acts 2, Peter indicates that Christ was in Hell. The Bible also teaches that Christ paid the penalty for our sin. If he did that and we deserve Hell, why would it be such a grievous error to think that Christ suffered our torture in Hell?”

    It would be a grievous error because Hell in Acts 2 refers to the place of the dead, not necessarily the fiery hell. There was the paradise side of hell and the fire side of hell. Jesus did not burn. He had already said, “It is finished” before He died. Christ paid for our sins by suffering and dying. There was no further suffering after death.

  19. HammerJacks Blacklisted Donkey
    November 26, 2007 at 10:06 pm

    First,I’ll deal with the most resent issue…….Christ wasn’t tormented in hell.To
    piggy back off the last coment and further prove the biblical stance on that issue,……the penality or judgement that befalls the non-believers is etenal separation from God.Notice that when Christ was on the cross He said My God,My God,..why hast thou forsaken me?
    Christ being God had never been separated from God,but at one breif moment in time all the sins of mankind was placed opon Christ and since God The Father won’t let sin in His presence He had to turn-away (you know the word better as repent)from His son Jesus.

    Before I leave this sight I wanted to let you know that since you yella bellied cowards did just what I said you were gonna do and found the exit door,I will open the door on another sight.
    30 + verses?!That proved your position?,SURE you didn’t and I got a bridge to sell you.Not only did I grab a handful of those verses and show that it didn’t say what you were tring to make it say, I also offered the Hebrew and Greek deffinition of repent ,(“explain what your definition of repent is”? …talk about circular)sure unbelief isn’t found in the definition,but sin also isn’t found….which shows that unbelief nor sin defines repent,therefore,both words are eigther implied or applied.Also,I submitted more then three verses!.and they directly applied to the issue,in fact the main verse I used asked the very question at hand…”Sirs, what must I do to be saved?…so,the Holy Spirit asks the question for us.Then He answers “believe,and thou shalt be saved”Now since The Holy Spirit didn’t come to testify of Himself but of Christ,that makes Christ and the whole Almighty God my testimony…..but I already proved that…..but I also showed Paul an Silas were in accord with me which means I establihed this issue with the wittness of the scripture….but you guys are still asking how fast was that calf going?
    I was upset when Dave and I talked on the phone and he testified that no one like Tom Neal would except this debate,I don’t know if he didn’t……but if he didn’t,I know why!…..he knows when he reproves you\,like I did…..you’ll just hit the eject button!!!!!!!!

    Roof savation?!With an arguement like that,no wonder you hit the eject button.

  20. Gwen Shelton
    January 11, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    I attended Hammond Baptist Schools in the 70’s-80’s. After graduation, I moved to Florida and have been a member of Berean Baptist Church for the past 12 years. I can assure you that your statements about Jack Hyles and Tom Neal are way off. You are taking bits and pieces and putting together a case against them compared to the 30 years I have spent growing as a Christian under their ministries. Jack Hyles and Tom Neal are both sinners and have made mistakes, just like you, me, and every other sinner. However, I know from actually being under their ministries that we were taught and learned a tremendous amount of Bible in Jack Hyles schools. One specific way the Bible was taught, by putting Bible versus to song, has helped me tremendously to remember Bible versus to this day that I learned as a child. There is also one sermon Jack Hyles gave that has specifically been a huge influence on my life. It focused on why God created man, to worship God. Concentrating on the fact that my life is to glorify God has helped me to keep focused and on track. I also know that Tom Neal does not “worship” Jack Hyles. We study the Bible at Berean Baptist Church and learn how to grow as Christians through prayer, Bible reading, Bilble study and soul winning. The Sunday School Classes at Berean specifically center around Bible study that is helpful in everyday life as a Christian. A few articles and/or letters do not portray the entire picture…like taking versus out of context.

  21. Art Dunham
    January 12, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Isaiah,

    If “unclean birds of a feather flock together”, then the Hyles crowd must be the “dodo birds flocking together.” Please learn to use the English language at least tolerably.

    Dave, I didn’t know you were a Mormon. Wow, the things you learn from listening to Hylots.

  22. January 12, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    Isaiah, I wasn’t trying to be coy when I said I would pray for you. As for the guys on Jack Hammer, I only have ever known Kent personally. But, if I had to chose who best reflects the spirit and teachings of Christ, it would be the JackHammer crew. Your guys just spout insults and don’t deal with issues, let alone the Bible. May God bless you with a change of heart and fear of Him.

  23. Jack R.
    January 12, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    Jackhammers,

    Surely you guys read these comments! Come on!!! I’m certain that Christopher Nelson has stated on your site that he was not from First Baptist Church nor an attendant of Hyles-Anderson College. Why do you claim him as one when he says that he is not?

    Why the “Hylot” name calling? This isn’t professional or Christ-like.
    My pastor would never rebuttle this way. I’m sure my God wouldn’t either.

  24. January 13, 2008 at 3:51 am

    Hylot, name calling? I suppose the Bible is name calling when it mentions Simon’s nickname Zelotes, or James and John, Boanerges.

  25. Jack R.
    January 13, 2008 at 11:59 am

    Don,

    Your rebuttle was a little more appropriate than Art’s rude comment.

    Yes, Simon’s NICKNAME was Zelotes. A name that he must have been comfortable with. As for James and John, they didn’t have much choice, since Jesus Christ gave it to them.

    I don’t believe that the First Baptist Church members go around calling themselves “Hylots”, so it is not a NICKNAME, and I don’t believe that Jackhammers are Jesus Christ.

    This is what I call name-calling. Something that little children do. If you want to rebuttle gentlemen, try having a little more couth.

  26. Art Dunham
    January 13, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    Jack R.,

    My comment was a little rude, but have you read the names that we have been called on this forum by these wonderful Christians who follow after Jack Hyles?

    Most of them also seem to have an inordinate interest in our underwear.

    Art Dunham

  27. Jack R.
    January 13, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    Art,

    “Let no man despise thy youth; but be thou an example of the believers, in word, in conversation, in charity, in spirit, in faith, in purity.”

    “Take heed unto thyself, and unto the doctrine; continue in them: for in doing this thou shalt both save thyself, and them that hear thee.”
    I Timothy 4:12 & 16

    Your comment “most of them” should probably be labeled as ONE.
    As for me, I could care less about your undergarments. What I do care about, is the way you link an entire Mega IFB church as a bunch of morons. This is not the correct way to show Christianity.

  28. January 13, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    Actually, the’ve exposed the fruit of several men – the immorality and false teachings – which we are commanded to do according to the Word of God. You do believe the Word of God, don’t you?

    Matthew 7:16-20 Ye shall know them by their fruits. Do men gather grapes of thorns, or figs of thistles? Even so every good tree bringeth forth good fruit; but a corrupt tree bringeth forth evil fruit. A good tree cannot bring forth evil fruit, neither can a corrupt tree bring forth good fruit. Every tree that bringeth not forth good fruit is hewn down, and cast into the fire. Wherefore by their fruits ye shall know them.

    Are you spiritual?

    1 Corinthians 2:15 But he that is spiritual judgeth all things, yet he himself is judged of no man.

  29. Jack R.
    January 16, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Jackhammer,

    “For so is the will of God, that with WELL DOING ye may put to silence the ignorance of foolish men: As free, and not using your liberty for a cloak of maliciousness, but as the servants of God. Honor all men. Love the brotherhood. Fear God. Honor the king.”
    I Peter 2:15-17

    “For even hereunto were ye called: because Christ also suffered for us, leaving us an example, ye should follow his steps: Who did no sin, neither was guile found in his mouth: Who, when he was reviled, reviled not again; when he suffered, he threatened not; but committed himself to him that judgeth righteously:”
    I Peter 2:21-23

    Yes, I believe the Word of God, do you?

    Wise men talk about ideas.
    Good men talk about things.
    Foolish men talk about people.

  30. January 16, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    Jack,

    Who said that last quote? It sounds like something I’d read in a fortune cookie. I would guess Plato or Buddha. It certainly isn’t in the Bible. The Bible talks about people. Interesting.

  31. Jack R.
    January 16, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    I found it in an old Sword of the Lord. I believe it was a quote from Dr. Lee Roberson.

  32. January 16, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Jack,

    I’m guessing that Lee Roberson talked about people from time to time. Certainly Jack Hyles did. I heard him. And Schaap. And Tom Kneel talks about Schaap.

    Your problem is that you consider these men to be the ultimate good. Whatever they do is right. Whatever their opponents do is… well, you know.

  33. Mike
    March 9, 2008 at 10:55 am

    This is by far the saddest CHRISTIAN site I’ve seen yet.
    You have nothing better to do than sit around and ‘sow discord among the brethern’ ? I thank GOD that I am not your Pastor. YOu should thank God I am not your Pastor because I WOULD begin church discipline on you right away.
    You gossip , sow discord , speak evil, and dishonor God by your constant bad mouthing.
    If what you say IS TRUE … WHY publish it for all to see ? What about ‘restoring such a one in the spirt of meekness.? You lack of meeknes is as bad as the sins you claim others have done.
    REPENT !

  34. March 9, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Repent of what, Mike? Unbelief?

    I believe they wrote it, so I can’t repent of unbelief.

  35. Lexington Wright
    March 10, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    I can’t believe this! Anyone who doesn’t believe that Dr.Tom Neil and Dr.Hyles are good men, needs to take a good look at thier spiritual walk with God. Dr. Schaap is the Devil’s puppet at the least. I may just be a teenager, but I can tell a wolf from a lamb of God!

  36. Sam Obra
    April 22, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    All I can say, to all that seems to be having problem with other christian is to stop looking at other brother and sister in the Lord’s
    faults and start focusing on the Lord Jesus Christ, as the bible said “looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith.” perhaps change your viewing perspective, like look at the good things what other christian do instead of the bad things. If all you do is to hurt other christian by pointing out their mistakes then you are more like the devil who went to the presence of God and start accusing Job.
    I like to read good things that other christian accomplished but seeing and reading people’s bad comment and pointing finger is just a waste of time, I believed God is still in control, and God is the one that place someone in the position and God is the one responsible in putting down someone in the position.

  1. October 29, 2007 at 5:27 am
Comments are closed.
