Home > Complementarianism, Jack Hammer > Towards a Consistent Complementarianism

Towards a Consistent Complementarianism

November 3, 2007

Enough of the fluff! Time for something weighty! We’re embracing our fat selves, and charging headlong into a thoroughgoing treatise on the much deliberated proposition of complementarianism.

Shew! Got that out of my mouth just in time, before it started marching back down my throat.

OK, so, we think complementarianism is important. Maybe you do too. Maybe you don’t. Maybe you think this will be a great waste of time. Maybe it will be. Maybe it won’t.

“We think you look very nice. ” “And you are so very smart. ” “And you have the nicest way of telling us to shut up. ” “We really appreciate you. ” “You are so important to us.”

There you have it. Complements, every one of them. We’re just getting warmed up here. We’ve got more coming. Like the one about your tie. And the one about your sermon. Oh yea, and we can’t forget the one about how well-behaved your children are.

Yup! There you have it. We’re being complementarian. We’re practicing our complementarianism for the upcoming first ever Annual Consistent Complementarianists Convention, to be held, I think, in beautiful Sunshine, Arizona. We’ll be there, with Complements to the Conventioners.

“What,” you might ask, “exactly is a complementarian?”

Hmmmm… How do we say it?

“Great question!” “You really think of everything, don’t you!” “Now, why in the world didn’t we think of explaining what that is first?” “Maybe this will help…”

Only, we want to apply it consistently, like say, to the way we dress. Like, for instance, someone ought to actually wear the pants in the family. And someone else should wear the dress. Instead of both wearing the dress the way it is now.

  1. November 3, 2007 at 5:34 am

    maybe we are more on the Fundamentalist Complementarian side of the complementarian label or Extreme Fundamentalist Complementarian, or EFCX, or EFCX* some are XEFC. I’m getting hungry for some KFC.

  2. November 3, 2007 at 7:11 pm

    What a lovely blog! Thank you so much for your insights, which were wonderful! Now, I have to go do the dishes before my lovely wonderful wife brains me!

  3. November 3, 2007 at 8:55 pm

    Jack, that was nice. I really appreciate your posts.

  4. November 4, 2007 at 6:40 am

    I too must complement Jack for his fine work. Style, I think it is. Varies from time to time. I’m glad he’s willing to put his name out there. So courageous. Such moxy. Gotta love him.

  5. Michael Marshall
    November 4, 2007 at 3:31 pm

    Wow, This is so encouraging, enlightening, uplifting. All this complementarianism going around, I’m all warm inside. I kinda feel like singing a hymn. Something that goes with the syrup being poured out here. Ah yes, I have just the song. How about a rosy chorus of In The Garden…….

  6. November 5, 2007 at 9:51 am

    I would complement you on your selection of hymns, Mike, except for one thing. One really sings such hymns best in a skirt. And I can’t get mine on just now.

  7. Michael Marshall
    November 5, 2007 at 5:35 pm

    I did not know Mallinak was Scottish……..

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
