Home > Jack Hammer, Mix 'n Match > 2008: It Is What It Is

2008: It Is What It Is

January 2, 2008

For many years, Lake Superior State University has put together an annual list of the words that they would want banished from public use for the next year. In honor of their list, I give you this message of encouragement.

I’m no wordsmith, but I’d like to give back to my audience by bestowing you an emotional send-off to 2008 with random commentary, a perfect storm of organic joy to decimate the black Friday that is this pop culture. None of you needs a webinar to tell you that the surge in Iraq authored by the president has given us new hope in this post 9/11 world. Back in the day, we could count on aggressive actions from our military, waterboarding or not. None of us wants personal freedoms thrown under the bus, but sometimes it is what it is. Maybe Mike Huckabee or Fred Thompson is the new Ronald Reagan and all of this will clear up. That would be sweet, huh?

Whatever your state in 2008, let’s stay obedient to Scripture, watching and waiting for the Lord.

Categories: Jack Hammer, Mix 'n Match Tags:
  1. January 2, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    Maybe Mike Huckabee is the new Ronald Reagan

    Unfortunately, I’m afraid Mike Huckabee is the new Jimmy Carter – a pro-life liberal who’s terrible on just about every other issue besides abortion.

    Go Fred Go!

  2. January 5, 2008 at 9:51 am

    I’ve got another word that should be on the list — “sexy.”

    I don’t get it with that word. Everything has to be “sexy.” If I keep a secret, that is “sexy.” If I wear combat boots, that is “sexy.” The Iowa caucus was “sexy.” The fight between Romney and Huckabee is “sexy.”

    What’s the deal with that word? I think it counts as overused and should be banished from public use for the next year.

  3. Tony Ruckel
    February 9, 2008 at 9:27 am

    Who shall we vote for in this election of farces and pretenses? Frustration is a word of this election to my wife and I.

  4. February 9, 2008 at 11:19 am

    Obviously, we will be voting in this election for the “least of evils.” I personally will not vote for any candidate that is pro-abortion or holds to any other anti-Christ position. I believe that is unethical. I do not want to stand before the Judgment Seat and answer for such an ungodly action.

    Another consideration in this issue between Huchabee and McCain is that Hutchabee was once a Baptist Pastor who forsook his calling of God to become a politician. However, beyond that, he forsook the Word of God to become a very broad ecumenicist. He has been an historical redistributionist in much of his fiscal policy (fiscal liberal). I would interpret this to mean he has adopted the philosophy of the social gospel and has chosen the vehicle of politics to be his main avenue of its propagation for this missional vision and world view.

    I find a man who has known the truth and rejected it to be more dangerous than a man like McCain who has never been anything but a politician with a strong military family history.

    Nonetheless, it is still a difficult choice.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
