Now This…

May 2, 2008

Television, Smell-a-vision, Aitch-e-double-hockey-stick-A-Vision.

We can’t live with it.  We can’t live without it.  Some do, but most won’t.  We need our nightly news-fix.  We love our commercials.  Quality time with the remote — Priceless.  Channel surfing is the new sport.  It is our babysitter, our nightly pacifier, our family unifier.  Touch my couch, and you are welcome.  Touch my coffee table, and you are forgiven.  Touch my piano, and you are sophisticated.  Touch my television, and you are ignorant, presumptuous, meddling.

American culture is television.  We live it.  We imitate it.  It imitates us.  It pushes us.  We push it.  We follow it.  It follows us.  We teach with it.  It teaches us.  We need it.  It needs us.  It is us.

Should we have a television?  Should we watch television?  Why should we watch television?  How should we watch television?  What does television say about us?  What does it teach us?  How does it affect us?

May is television month on JackHammer.  Hard to watch while your hammering, but it makes a nice sparky arch when it explodes.  Fireworks!  And we aren’t even to July yet.

Stay tuned!

  1. Gary Johnson
    May 3, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    Just use that big hammer and be done with it. Shotguns handle that matter real well also. Of course for fun if you live in a high rise apartment, is just tossing it out the window.

    It may surprise many how easy it is to live your life without a TV.

  2. May 4, 2008 at 6:26 am

    Especially with YouTube.

    By the way, Gary, I’ve been trying to contact you. I think I might have a wrong phone number. Would you mind sending me an e-mail, or giving me a call?

  3. Gary Johnson
    May 4, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    Good comment on the computer related matters. I have not had a TV in the house since before I was saved back under my parent’s roof. (23 years ago) But I have wondered about the similarities of the internet to TV, though filtering the internet can keep it more to a research type function, but still some similarities that could be discussed.

    Dave, I sent you an email via the address listed on the church website.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
