Home > Marriage, The Family, Voegtlin > Sons Go Because the Son Was Sent

Sons Go Because the Son Was Sent

July 8, 2008

I expect Kent to bump my post soon.  But only because I am so late in getting something up for Monday.  Wednesday is normally his day.

In the past few weeks we’ve had quite the discussion about how to find a life partner.  It actually got me to doing more than maintenance of the jackhammr.  Actually, it was my “drive-by” post that stirred the waters or fed the fire.  Now most of you have just sat by the fire watching the three jackhammrs spar with each other and put up with an occasional burst of ammunition from the “Soldier of War.”  I don’t mind that.

I said briefly in my post that sons go (I intend to also show that daughters are given).  This was first taken as an affront to Kent’s thorough exegesis and historical study.  In his best example, he has said that the Father chose the Bride for the Son.  This is true.  He says that in the model he follows, the father chooses and the son approves.  This is good; because no earthly father is going to know his choice is perfect like our heavenly Father would.

I’ll admit that I have not developed a “WAY” as Kent has, but this month has helped, and yet I still think sons go.  The reason is that even in Kent’s best example, the Son went.  The Father chose, but the Son was sent.  Because the Trinity is Divine, the arrangement worked out cleanly (although when the Son came, he was at first rejected–John 1:12).  When human nature is put into the equation, Kent puts the father and son into the choosing.  More fatherly input, but the son approves also.  In my mind the next step continues in the same manner, father and son.  Rather, son and father.  Because the Son actually was sent and the Father approved, we should follow this same pattern in finding a life partner.  Sons go because the Son was sent:

But last of all he sent unto them his son, saying, They will reverence my son.  (Matthew 21:37)

Having yet therefore one son, his well-beloved, he sent him also last unto them, saying, They will reverence my son.  (Mark 12:6)

For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved.  (John 3:17)

That all men should honor the Son, even as they honor the Father. He that honoreth not the Son honoreth not the Father which hath sent him.  (John 5:23)

And this is the will of him that sent me, that every one which seeth the Son, and believeth on him, may have everlasting life: and I will raise him up at the last day.  (John 6:40)

Say ye of him, whom the Father hath sanctified, and sent into the world, Thou blasphemest; because I said, I am the Son of God?  (John 10:36)

Unto you first God, having raised up his Son Jesus, sent him to bless you, in turning away every one of you from his iniquities.  (Acts 3:26)

But when the fullness of the time was come, God sent forth his Son, made of a woman, made under the law,  (Galatians 4:4)

In this was manifested the love of God toward us, because that God sent his only begotten Son into the world, that we might live through him.  Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us, and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins.  (1 John 4:9-10)

And we have seen and do testify that the Father sent the Son to be the Savior of the world.  (1 John 4:14)

The Father did not abdicate his responsibility by sending the Son; He had already chosen.  The Son could not have fulfilled His responsibility if He had not gone.  While the Father chose, he did not hand the prize to the Son on a platter.  The Son was sent from the comforts of Heaven to seek his Bride (Luke 19:10).  This reason, from the best of all examples, is why I believe sons go–the Son was sent.

Categories: Marriage, The Family, Voegtlin
  1. July 8, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    Hey, you can bump me for a moment, but I don’t want to run into Dave’s day. I’ll let your post stand for awhile and let others comment. I do have an idea that I’ve wanted to write on somewhere, actually a few, either here or over at my blog.

  2. Moses McKnight
    July 13, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Hi Jeff, I would have to say that your logic does not follow. “Sons go” is not equivalent to “the Son was sent”. In fact, the two are really polar opposites. The first speaks of self-will and initiative and independence; whereas the second speaks of submission, waiting, and dependence.

    You say, “Because the Son actually was sent and the Father approved…”, but actually, the Father chose and sent, and the Son approved, not the other way around. Not only that, but the Father did not simply tell the Son “Go find yourself a bride”, Jesus nothing of himself, but did the Father’s will, spoke that which the Father told him to speak, and received those that the Father gave him. John 6:37,38 7:16 8:28 etc.

    Now, I’m not totally against a son finding a girl and then obtaining his father’s permission to marry her (or rather to ask her father), but I don’t believe your logic is correct here.

    One question for you, what if the sons father does not approve? What if he utterly forbids it?

  3. July 14, 2008 at 12:35 am

    Jeff,

    As you would probably be able to guess, I agree with Moses here, especially the first two paragraphs.

  4. July 14, 2008 at 5:59 am

    Hi Moses,

    Thanks for commenting. And Kent. I’m going to show my logical steps later, but I will quickly say that I believe you both are playing semantics with me. What do you think of the go/went/sent ideas that Jesus used in this story:

    But what think ye? A certain man had two sons; and he came to the first, and said, Son, go work today in my vineyard. He answered and said, I will not: but afterward he repented, and went. And he came to the second, and said likewise. And he answered and said, I go, sir: and went not. (Matthew 21:28-30)

  5. July 14, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    Jeff,

    I don’t argue with the son going to get the bride. My argument is who selects the bride. You haven’t given any evidence that the son makes the selection, the choice, the election. It isn’t “using “semantics” to differentiate the two. Isaac took Rebekah, he left father and mother to cleave to his wife, but he didn’t make the choice.

    I’m leaving today, so this will be it on comments until late Thursday.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
