Home > Truth, Voegtlin > THE Truth

THE Truth

February 2, 2009

There are many places in the Bible that address the subject of truth. Of course, all the Bible itself is true in one way or another. It either speaks the truth or gives the true account of something that is untrue. Christ also spoke the truth and about the truth often. He said, Ye shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free.

One of the most well known times that Christ spoke the truth about the Truth is in John 14:6 where he said, I am the way, the truth, and the life, no man cometh unto the Father but by me. In this text, several attributes of the truth are seen.

1. The truth can be known.
2. The truth is external.
3. The truth is unchanging.
4. The truth is eternal.
5. The truth is absolute.

Whenever anyone claims that something IS true, he is assuming that EVERYTHING else is not true. If someone believes Christ, then he believes the truth. If he denies Christ, then he denies the truth. Even if he only does not admit Christ is the truth, then he does not admit to the truth. The point I’m making is that there is only ONE truth, and everything is either true or it’s not. There is no space between truth and error.

Now, when people categorize the truth, they make us think that there are degrees of truth. This is dangerous. It gives us the feeling that there are some things that God does not care about. And that is not true. God is true, even if every man is a liar. Admittedly, the impact of my errors may differ according to what I am in error about, but the fact of the error still stands. If I am in error, I am believing a lie.

As the month progresses, you will read our three perspectives on the truth.  We may differ, and if so, then one or even all of us are wrong, but we must remember and respect a person who is honestly seeking the truth and seeking to align his life and practice with it.

  1. February 14, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    I cam across your blog after myslef writing a blog about seeking truth. Are you saying that Jesus is the ONLY truth? I have heard this from many other people, but I cannot buy into it. There were many many other truths spoken before Jesus came along (Buddha, Krishna, LaoTse, The Kabbala, The Vedas…etc) so we are to just disregard these great people’s words because someone new came along?

    I always get the argument that it’s different because Jesus proclaimed to be the son of God…but he would also say that we are ALL sons of God. So that just tells me that Jesus was just one of us, but just a little more enlightened…well maybe a lot more. There are too many truths from our ancient past to just focus on one. Focusing on only one makes that truth a lie.

    I am not knocking Jesus, I love his words and meaning as much as I love Plato’s or Buddha’s words. My point is that maybe there’s more out there to look at than just one man’s words.

    Thanks for allowing me to ask questions and give my opinions…we need more discourse on this subject if you ask me. =) My blog is at http://truthseeker02.wordpress.com.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
