Church-wide Revival

May 11, 2009

Here are some questions that I have thought about for a long time.  These are related to the present topic and are mostly asked to help get us to be thinking about revival in more that just one way.  My premise is that the question of revival could be applied to churches corporately.  If that is true, the following questions come to mind.

  1. How does a church “get right with God”?
  2. How does a church “please God”?
  3. How does a church “grow in grace”?
  4. How does a church start a “new beginning of obedience”?

Wouldn’t it be more than just individual actions?

  1. May 12, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Good questions to consider. I’m gonna think about these and check back in to see what answers you all came up with.

  2. May 14, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    Would the message you preached (Where is Revival Needed?) apply here? I

    listened to it a while back on SermonAudio.com. Basiclly you used The verse

    that says : “where there is no vision the people perish.” You went on to explain

    that the vision is talking about the Word of God(Bible)(I had never heard that

    verse treated like that before), so revival is needed in areas where the word of

    God is not being applied in our lives. Do you think any of that would clash with

    Bro. Brandenburgs postabove?

    • May 16, 2009 at 8:20 pm

      Yes, the message does apply. In fact, that message was some of the fruit of my answers to that question. You are correct in saying that I said the word “vision” is the Word of God and I hope I gave sufficient biblical support for that assertion. Yes, revival is needed where the Word of God is not being applied in our lives and churches.

      I don’t believe any of it clashes with Kent’s post. Because applying the Word to me means obeying it. And I believe revival is obedience to the authority of Scripture.

  3. Cathy
    May 19, 2009 at 8:48 am

    I couldn’t get your sermon to play. Is it also on sermon audio?

    • May 20, 2009 at 2:13 pm

      Yes, it is only on SermonAudio. I thought I was making a flash link to the sermon, but it didn’t work. I changed the link. It should work now.

  4. May 20, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    Revival is obedience to Scripture. How does that work if revival comes from

    God? Do we become contrite and humble first and then God enables us to obey?

    I’m really not sure how revival comes.

    • May 21, 2009 at 7:43 am

      Saying revival is obedience to Scripture might be overly simplistic, but I believe that Christians that are obedient to Scripture and continually seeking to find more places to align themselves with the Word of God are ALIVE and don’t need revived.

  5. May 20, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    Sorry if the answer is in your message. I have not had the opportunity to listen

    to it a second time yet. I try to listen to it again when I have the time.

  6. Chad Delhotal
    May 21, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Interesting thought provokers. I have recently read a very remarkable book by H.C. Fish, originally published in 1874, it is titled “Handbook of Revivals”. Dr. Fish was a Baptist pastor during the last Great Awakening. I found his book to be very helpful, especially in looking at revival in a local church setting (as apposed to a national setting, like we usually think of concerning the Great Awakenings). With that in mind, I would like to contribute this thought: a revival in a church is merely individuals being revived and influencing one another. The nature of man is such, that we can be greatly affected by those around us. If many in a church are revived, I would think the power would be multiplied to more effectively influence the less spiritual members of the church and the lost of the community.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
