Home > Brandenburg, The Church, Worship > Why Am I in a Church like the One I’m in? pt. 1

Why Am I in a Church like the One I’m in? pt. 1

October 28, 2009

On some other blog someone asked this kind of question.  I thought it was a good question and something I wanted to explore with everyone for perhaps more than one post, that is, unless we pick a topic and go after it.  I’ll put this on hold then for a little while.  The other two jackhammers can write on this too if they want.   I think we’ll be back to our old schedule sometime soon.

First, I should get to the most basic part of the question, why am I in a church?   Perhaps the first thing you thought of was those people who say that they don’t believe in organized religion.  You get that out there when you’re talking to the lost.   But I’m not going there first.  I’m going to get into something that is even more basic than saying something good about the institution of the church itself.  The reason I’m in a church is because of God.

I want to please God.  I’m not in a church for myself.  I’m in a church for God.  That guides all the other thoughts and actions that I have about a church.  I don’t attend church for myself.  I go to church for God.  I don’t determine whether the church is good by what it does for me.  I make that decision based on what I believe is best for God.  I might have a bad relationship with someone in the church, but that doesn’t stop me from being in church.  Why?  I’m not there for other people.  I’m there for God.  I’m there for other people too, but entirely without one single other person, I would still be there.

God never fails.  He never changes.  He’s always great.  He’s always the best.  He’s amazingly worth it.  What it is that I like about whatever church that I’m going to be a part of starts with who God is.  He loves me.  I love Him.  Every good and perfect gift has come from Him.  I could never repay Him, but this life I’m living is going to be about Him.   So I’m there for Him.  I don’t care if my feelings are hurt.  He didn’t hurt them.   No one or no thing is going to keep me away, because it is all about God.

If you don’t have that as the reason, I feel sorry for you.  If you don’t have it as the reason, I think you’ve got it wrong right off the bat.  You’ll likely have problems because you don’t have that settled.  I also think that not having that as the reason is at the root of most problems with churches and with people toward churches.  Have church first be about God.  It will be the best thing you’ve every done for church is to have it not be about you or about your family, but about God.  It will be the best thing for you and for your family and for everyone else in the world if church would be about God to you.

  1. October 28, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    If people have this right, then the next thing that will come is a committment to the church that goes beyond attendence, tithing, and service. Their committment to the church will lead them to strive for resolution whenever conflict arises. When a person becomes offended at a flaw in their church, or in a member of their church, and as a result leaves their church without having made the effort to resolve the offense, what they show is that they were not committed to the church to begin with. Their first reason for attending/joining their church was not for God. It was for themselves.

  2. Joshua
    October 29, 2009 at 2:38 am

    I was once speaking with a young man who had grown up in our church but was very dissatisfied. Questionable activities had led to his suspension from the church orchestra. He started visiting the Baptist Union church down the road. When we were talking about it he admitted that the worship was both charismatic and Rock, and standards were no where to be seen, but went on to point out that a) he got something out of the preaching, b) he got something out of the worship and c) at least they would let him contribute if he wanted to.

    They all sounded like good things (profitable preaching, uplifting worship and serving in a local church), but I think this post explains it all perfectly. It wasn’t about God. Preaching that sounds nice but is consistently 1/2 to 1/4 of the full counsel of God disgraces Him. Worship that edifies a man but is distasteful to God disgraces Him. Service in church based off the “two legs and walking, forget holiness” measure disgraces Him. But the decision was based around him, not Him.

    He never actually ended up going to that church permanently, but the conversation stuck with me.

  3. October 29, 2009 at 9:26 am

    Dave,

    Agreed on the resolution issue.

    Joshua,

    Very good. I liked the “he got something out” part as a highlight to the point. People leave church wondering what they got out of it, when the question should be, “What did God get out of it?”

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
