Home > Jack Hammer > I’d Like to Buy a Comment

I’d Like to Buy a Comment

February 3, 2010

Meandering through Colossians, we completed exactly one fourth of the book in one month.  And with that same blistering pace and blazing speed, we have every intention of finishing the book in February.  We recognize that our faithful readers, fearful of offering the kinds of comments that are standard fare on sites like Pyromaniacs, refrain from excessive glad-handing.  And, all things considered, we appreciate that. 

BUT FOR CRYIN’ OUT LOUD, CAN’T YOU THINK OF ANYTHING TO SAY?!

There.  We said it.  We needed to, so we did.  Don’t feel like you can only comment if you found something to disagree with.  We don’t need our backs scratched, our ears tickled, our bellies rubbed, or our heads patted.  But we would love to have folks add to the conversation.  We love to discuss Scripture, and we are pretty sure that you all do as well.  Might take some effort on your part, but we’re confident that you can do it.  Just keep on baby-stepping.  We’ll never give up hope.

  1. February 3, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    Sorry “What is Truth”‘s current series is consuming all of my blog reading time! I’m planning on getting back to these later. I’ll be looking for that $ in my paypal account now. 🙂

  2. J Baker
    February 4, 2010 at 9:46 am

    I don’t know about the rest of the readers, but I have thoroughly enjoyed the Colossians series. It has been edifying and encouraging. It is also timely; at least two other pastors I know of started 2010 by going through Colossians.

    It is too bad that the argumentative and controversial posts get more response than plain expository teaching. There is a place for both, but the expository teaching is far better.

    • J Baker
      February 4, 2010 at 9:49 am

      I meant to add that reading the Colossians posts is a kind of rest because it points us to Christ in these passages instead of quibbling.

  3. Anvil
    February 4, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    I would assume that most of the readers that are regulars to this site won’t have as much disagreement with straight exposition. And when there is something to discuss, it will be based on things that either require a lot of time or are beyond the expertise of the reader (e.g. comments based on the meaning of the Greek/Hebrew, or some of the presuppositions of the author, how the text is approached, etc.)

    However, although I don’t see the point of an “Amen, brother,” other than to draw attention to the one saying the Amen, I will say that I have also enjoyed this series. For me though, exposition leads more to quiet contemplation than it does to a boisterous discussion. I’m having some thoughts that might lead to questions on the “Evidence” post, but I’m trying to make sure I have digested it thoroughly with the time constraints I have, before posting. (Prov. 18:13)

    • Joshua
      February 4, 2010 at 3:29 pm

      I’ll second Anvil’s comment about quiet contemplation. I’ve been enjoying this series too, and it’s given me cause for pause more than a few times. Please keep it coming, your efforts are not being ignored or yawned at until the next post on pants or something brings down the fire.

  4. February 6, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    That will be 200 dollars, Alex!

  5. February 8, 2010 at 8:51 am

    Well, I’m reading other things right now, but my plan is to download all the entries and keep them as an e-commentary on Colossians. Next time I preach or teach from the book, I’ll probably have a lot to say. Thanks for the work.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
